Mersal – Music Review (Tamil Soundtrack)

Songs and credits at the end.

Aalaporaan Thamizhan goes through multiple shifts, all within the familiar ARR realm. Some of those segments work – like the mellow portion headed by Pooja AV – but in its entirety the song is all over the place. Mersal Arasan works better; the tune is catchier, but once again there is too much happening in the song for anything to really stick but the occasional bits and bobs. Maacho features two fine vocalists – Sid Sriram and Shweta Mohan – and they go about their part well. The song unfortunately does not live up to their singing standards; Manomani’s sarangi in the first interlude is the only pleasantly surprising element in the whole affair. Compared to the rest of the soundtrack, Nee Thaanae comes across as the more appealing track despite largely riding on a rather ordinary melody and once again being riddled with déjà vu inducing sounds. The singing by Shreya Ghoshal is exquisite, and the song’s clear highlight is the classical-flavoured segment that surrounds Pandit Vishwa Mohan Bhatt’s mohan veena interludes.

Mersal. Short and unremarkable soundtrack from A R Rahman.

Music Aloud Rating: 2.5/5

Top Recos: Nee Thaanae, Mersal Arasan

Musician Credits

1. Maacho
Vocals: Sid Sriram, Shweta Mohan
2. Mersal Arasan
Vocals: G V Prakash Kumar, Naresh Iyer, Shranya Srinivas, Vishwaprasadh Arranged by : T R Krishna Chetan
3. Neethanae
Vocals: A R Rahman, Shreya Ghoshal
4. Aalaporaan Thamizhan
Vocals: Kailash Kher, Sathya Prakash, Deepak, Pooja AV

Music : A R Rahman

Lyrics : Vivek


Mohan Veena : Pandit Vishwa Mohan Bhatt

Flute : Naveen Kumar

Guitars : Keba Jeremiah, Kabuli

Nadaswaram : Thirumurthy

Saz & Mandolin : Subani

Sitar : Kishore

Sarangi: Manonmani

Trumpet : Ben

Indian Rhythm : T Raja, Kumar, Lakshmi Narayanan, Raju, Vedha, Neelakandan, Hariprasad, Ranjith

Tabla : Sai Shravanam

Thavil : M VenkateshSubramanian, Kaviraj, S Sundar, Purushothaman

Kombu : Alex, Kali, Shankar, Viji

Backing Vocals

Deepak, Nivas, Santhosh Hariharan, Shenbagaraj, Diwakar, Veena Murali, Maalavika, Deepthi Suresh, Soundarya, Anu Subbhaiya, Vishnupriya, Yaamini, Aishwarya A Kumar, Shilpa Natarajan, Nadisha B.Thomas, Roshini Sharon, Sharanya Gopinath, Shilvi Sharon, Preethy Christopher.

Live Strings : Chennai Strings Orchestra / Sunshine Orchestra

Conducted by V J Srinivasamurthy, R K Prabhakar Recorded at A M Studios

Vocal Arrangement : Arjun Chandy

Sound Engineers

Panchathan Record Inn, Chennai: Suresh Permal, Karthik Sekaran, T R Krishna Chetan, Srinidhi Venkatesh, Jerry Vincent, Santhosh Dhayanidhi, Vinay Sridhar, Ishaan Chhabra

AM Studios, Chennai : S Sivakumar, Kannan Ganpat, Krishnan Subramanian, Pradeep, Manoj, Srinath

AR Studios, Mumbai: Nitish R Kumar, Dilshaad Shabbir Sheikh

Additional Programming : T R Krishna Chetan, Santhosh Dayanidhi, Kumaran Sivamani, Hari Dafusia

Mixed by T R Krishna Chetan

Mastered By Suresh Permal

Mastered For iTunes S Sivakumar

Musicians Coordinators : Noell James, Vijay Iyer, TM Faizuddin

Musicians Fixer : Samidurai R


Tags: , , , , , , , ,