Oru Mexican Aparatha – Music Review (Malayalam Soundtrack)

Songs and credits at the end.

Given the political theme of Oru Mexican Aparatha, it isn’t surprising that most songs follow the inspirational/revolutionary route. First of those, Emaanmaare Emaanmaare, comes from guest composer (and lyricist) Renjith Chittade. The song happens to be an adaptation of the song he created in support of Oorali frontman Martin John when he was allegedly arrested for his long-haired appearance (even the song’s video seems to pay a tribute to the band’s general attiring). Good song, particularly for the scathing lyrics that Shebin Mathew delivers well. Rest of the soundtrack comes debutant composer Manikandan Ayyappa. His opening number Akasha Kuda is engagingly upbeat with an interesting shift halfway through. Nithin Raj and chorus handle the vocals well, and Sulfiq’s narrative interjections add a nice touch.

Kalippu Katta Kalippu has Arunraja Kamaraj who seems to have a knack of making everything he raps sound the same. The general energy makes the song work, nevertheless. Munneraan Samayamai has a more imaginative and impactful arrangement (that first interlude featuring Nijil’s trumpet and Francis Xavier’s violin is my favourite), but is bogged down by Franco’s average singing. Manikandan delivers the soundtrack’s best in the one song that digresses from the political theme. Ivalaro has a beautiful folksy melody (shades of madhyamavathi raga perhaps) that the composer complements with a fine arrangement that sees some excellent violin and an array of ethnic percussion (Sunil Kumar). Vijay Yesudas is in top form behind the mic, with able support from the chorus.

Oru Mexican Aparatha. First of the multiple revolutionary-themed movies that are lined up for release in Malayalam this year, and a promising composing debut for Manikandan Ayyappa.

Music Aloud Rating: 3/5

Top Recos: Ivalaro, Emaanmaare, Akasha Kuda

Musician credits

1. Aakasha Kuda
Singer: Nithin Raj, Sulfiq
Lyricist: Rafeeq Ahammed
Music Director: Manikandan Ayyappa

2. Ivalaro
Singer: Vijay Yesudas
Lyricist: Rafeeq Ahammed
Music Director: Manikandan Ayyappa

3. Emanmaraii
Singer: Shebin Mathew
Lyricist: Renjith Chittade
Music Director: Renjith Chittade

4. Munneraan Samayamai
Singer: Franco
Lyricist: Anil Panachooran
Music Director: Manikandan Ayyappa

5. Kalippu Katta Kalippu
Singer: Arunraja Kamaraj & Manikandan Ayyappa
Lyricist: Tom Emmatty
Music Director: Manikandan Ayyappa
Keys: Mohammed Ali
Violin: Francis Xavier
Guitar: Sangeeth Pavithran
Sax: Rison
Trumpet: Nijil
Percussion: Sunil kumar

Backing Vocals:
Anil Panachooran, Dhines Menon,
Arshid Sreedhar, Sanandan, Sobhu, Sreerag, Bidhun, Indrajith, Pranav, Krishnaprasad, Sudhamani, Anugraha, Krishna, Varsha Raj, Revathy, Jaggu

Songs Edited by: Abhijith Sreedhar @ Songmakers Studio Thrissur

Mixed & Mastered by:
Renjith Rajan @ Muzik Lounge Studios, Chennai.
S. Sivakumar @ A M Studios, Chennai
Saji R @ Chetana Studios, Thrissur

Tags: , , , , , , , , , ,