Vikram Vedha – Music Review (Tamil Soundtrack)

Songs and musician credits at the end.

Anirudh Ravichander’s singing shortcomings are the sore point of an otherwise fantastically realised romantic melody Yaanji Yaanji (pity a far skilled Sathyaprakash is relegated to backing vocals); his singing counterpart Shaktisree Gopalan does well though. Excellent use of strings throughout the arrangement, and composer Sam CS does particularly well in the interludes. The Nenjaathiye refrain is cleverly adapted by the composer into the short, soulful instrumental piece titled Idhu Emosion, delivered by Chennai Orchestra. Karuppu Vellai derives its eerie charm big time from that folk refrain (a devotional tune, apparently, but also quite close to the snake song tunes in Kerala), but to Sam’s credit he builds a sleek thematic piece around it (featuring gunshots et al). Sivam’s rendition packs the right amount of attitude to go with the gangster song. The folk refrain appears twice more in the soundtrack. In Ghetto Chase a kids’ chorus (Meghavarshini, Avantika, Monisha) renders a vocal version amidst a thrilling instrumental piece that rides on violins and guitars (Chennai Orchestra). And in Oru Katha Sollatta, composer lays it over a waltz-y European backdrop; a somewhat discordant combination.

MLR Karthick, Mukesh and Guna rule the folky drinking song Tasakku Tasakku with their energy, even as Sam’s deft work elevates the song from being garden variety kuthu (I also noticed a bit of Malayalam in there at one point!). It is perhaps Pradeep Kumar’s presence behind the mic that gives Pogaatha Yenna Vittu a Santhosh Narayanan/Sean Roldan-ish vibe in my head. And the man is in fine form as usual, joined by an equally competent Neha Venugopal. The composer adorns the folk-flavoured melody with some fine strings usage once again; that second interlude in particular is beautifully done. Of the remaining three instrumental pieces – Yethu Dharmam? Yethu Nyaayam? Sangu Sattham – the third one impresses best, though it is also the shortest. All of them should be effective background pieces though.

I am not particularly familiar with Sam C S’s previous works, but Vikram Vedha is excellent work from the man!

Music Aloud Rating: 3.5/5

Top Recos: Pogaadha Yenna Vittu, Yaanji, Tasakku Tasakku

Musician Credits

Song: Karuppu Vellai
Singers: Sivam & Sam C S
Lyrics: Vignesh Sivan

Song: Yaanji Yaanji
Singers: Anirudh Ravichander & Shakthisree Gopalan
Backing Vocal: Sathiya Prakash
Lyrics: Mohanraj

Song: Tasakku Tasakku
Singers: Mugesh, M L R Karthick, Guna And Chorus
Lyrics: Muthamil

Song: Yethu Dharmam?
Chennai Orchestra

Song: Pogatha Yennavittu
Singers: Pradeep Kumar & Neha Venugopal
Lyrics: Sam C S

Song: Ghetto Chase
Singers: Meghavarshini, Avantika & Monisha
Chennai Orchestra

Song: Idhu Emosion
Chennai Orchestra

Song: Yethu Nyayam?
Singers: Sam C S
Chennai Orchestra

Song: Sangu Sattham
Singers: Sethu Thankachan, Kannan M, Ravikumar

Song: Oru Katha Sollatta?
Singers: Sam C S, Sethu Thankachan, Kannan M & Ravikumar
Chennai Orchestra

All Tracks Composed by: Sam C S
Keys: Sam C S, Onasis Mohan – Hentry Kuruvila – K P – Lijin Bambino
Accustic Guitar: Keba Jeromiah – Onasis Mohan – Babu
Electric And Bass Guitar Keba Jeremiah & Babu
Ukulele: Keba Jeremiah & Seenu
Mandolin, Oud, Pipa, Sandoor, Harp, Sarod, Banjo & Lute: Seenu
Solo Violin: Balaji – Manoj
Whistle: Deva Rajesh
Flute: Kiran
Rhythms And Percussions: Shruthi – Deric – Ashwin – Raju
Chorus: Sethu Thankatchan – Lijin – Kannan – Ravikumar – Anitha – Nega Venugopal – Avanthika – Haritha – Aishwarya – Meghavarshini – Avantika
Strings Arrangements And Programed By: Hentry Kuruvila
Violins: Hemanth – Sampath – David – Palani – A Selvaraj – Siva – Vijaya Baskar – Kannan – Balu – Samson – Dhana Sekar – Himam – Narayan Rao
Viola: Murali – Sasi – Selvaraj – Rex – Grijan – Balaji – Baskar – Gopi – Vinay Kumar
Cello: Sekar – Viji; Double Bass: Bithu
Orchestra Conducted By: Yensone
Song Mixed And Mastered By: Balu Thankachan (Track 1,2,3 & 5)
Additional Tracks Mixed By: Thiru And Sabin Jose
Additional Tracks Mastered By: Abin Pushpakaran
Recording Engineers: Avinash Satish (20db Sound Studios) –
Sujith Sreedhar (Krimson Avenue Studios) Thiru (G Sharp Studios) Raju (John Studios)
Music Supervisor: Sethu Thankachan – Nizamudeen H
Music Co-Ordinator: B Velavan

Tags: , , , , , , , , ,