Kochavva Paulo Ayyappa Coelho – Music Review (Malayalam Soundtrack)

kochavva paulo ayyappa coelho malayalam poster

Songs and full credits at the end.

Guest composer Sooraj S Kurup’s Vaanam Mele comes with something of a Pularkaalam Pole hangover about it. Not as effective a song in comparison, but it is engaging; largely owing to Shankar Mahadevan behind the mic, supported by a well-employed chorus. Rest of the soundtrack is done by Shaan Rahman. And the man himself handles vocals for two of his tracks. His seemingly processed singing is the weak point of Doore Dooram, a song that otherwise features an engaging arrangement highlighted by Sumesh Parameshwaran’s guitars. In the other song the composer joined by Job Kurien and the singing is good here. Unfortunately the song as such doesn’t match the singing standards.

As the man has done multiple times in the past, it is in the melodic tracks that Shaan truly shines. Neelakkannulla Maanea has already been well-received, and quite deservedly so. The retro-flavoured melody is tastefully orchestrated by the composer and delivered well by Vijay Yesudas and Shweta Mohan. And the soundtrack’s best, Ethu Meghamaari comes in two fabulously sung versions. Hesham Abdul Wahab is at his soulful best rendering the pensive piece in its main version that features some nice flute from Josy Alappuzha, but the minimally arranged reprise version is the winner here. The unplugged setting allows for the lovely melody to come into full focus, and the singer Anne Amie absolutely rocks her debut! A fine debut this.

Kochavva Paulo Ayyappa Coelho. Soundtrack of the famed Udaya Studios’ return movie works largely for Shaan Rahman’s mastery over melodic compositions.

Music Aloud Rating: 3/5

Top Recos: Ethu Meghamaari (Reprise), Neelakkannulla Maane, Vaanam Mele

Full Credits

1: Neelakkannulla Maanea
Vocals – Vijay Yesudas | Swetha Mohan
Lyrics – Vayalar Sharath Chandra Varma

2: Mele Mukilodum
Vocals – Job Kurien | Shaan Rahman
Lyrics – Manu Manjith

3: Ethu Meghamaari
Vocals – Hesham Abdul Wahab
Lyrics – Vishal Johnson

4: Dooradooram
Vocals – Shaan Rahman
Lyrics – Harinarayanan B K

6. Ethu Meghamaari (Reprise)
Vocals – Anne Amie

Guitars : Sumesh Parameshwar ,Flute : Josy Alappuzha, Nadaswaram : O.K.Gopi ,Tabla : Anand
Grand Piano, Rythm and Electronic Programming by Shaan Rahman, All songs composed by Shaan Rahman..
All songs mixed and mastered at VGP STUDIOS CHENNAI by Biju James.

5. Vaanam Mele
Vocals – Shankar Mahadevan
Lyrics – Sooraj S Kurup
Harmony – Krishnapriya,Anurag & Anjana

Guitars – Sumesh Parameshwar,Flute – Rajesh Cherthala,
Composed,Programmed and Arranged by Sooraj S Kurup
Mixed and Mastered by KiranLal @NHQ Studios Cochin
Recording engineers -Rahul @ Purple Haze Studios , Mumbai
Binil Eldhose @ NHQ Studios ,Cochin

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , ,