Kammatipaadam – Music Review (Malayalam Soundtrack)

kammatipaadam posterSongs and full credits at the end.

The man who was composer for director Rajeev Ravi’s debut film Annayalum Rasoolum, Tamil composer K gets one song in Kammatipaadam, the very likeable Kaathirunna Pakshi Njaan that Karthik nails with his singing and whistling. The man has excellent support from John P Varkey in the backdrop with his guitar play. John P Varkey gets onto the driving seat with Chingamaasathile. Confession at this point: I have not listened to any of John’s past works (he has done two other movies), but the man is ace with his arrangement! In Chingamaasathile the man produces an ambient, folk-flavoured backing to Anoop Mohandas’ fab rendition of Dileep KG’s nostalgia-inducing verse. Composer does even better with his second track Para Para – what starts off with a traditional folk tune quickly develops into a heady, haunting choral chant, before ending the way it began. The soundtrack’s surprise entry however is Puzhu Pulikal where Vinayakan, a man known thus far to Malayalis as a competent actor, reveals his hitherto hidden musical skills. The dark and intense (and again quite folk-infused) sound provided by the composer is perfect fit for the bleak father-son conversation (a loaded rant against societal oppression, emblematic of the movie itself) penned by Anwar Ali that is carried off neatly by the singers Sunil Mathai and Savio Laz. John Varkey plays guitar for this song too, though it is Francis Xavier’s folk-style violin that rules the arrangement.

Kammatipaadam. A multi-composer soundtrack where every composer delivers exceptionally well! Don’t see that happen often!

Music Aloud Rating: 8.5/10

Full Credits
Para Para
Singer: Anoop Mohandas
Chorus: Sharath Aalaps, Shyam Aalaps, Sunil Mathai,Greeshma, Sonu, Anju, Shinil Joseph, AnoopG, Krishnan, Abin Peter, Gagul Joseph, Kannan, Ayyappan, Jithin, Yassin Nissar, Ranjith, Nikhil
Additional Programming​: Dawn Vincent
Lyricist: Anwar Ali
Music Director: John P. Varkey

Singer: Anoop Mohandas
Lyricist: Dileep K.G
Programming & Guitar: ​John P. Varkey
Music Director: John P. Varkey

Kaathirunna Pakshi Njan
Singer: Karthik
Lyricist: Anwar Ali
Guitar​: John P. Varkey
Whistle: ​Karthik
Music Director: K

Puzhu Pulikal
Singer: Sunil Mathai, Savio Laz
Additional Voice: Vinayakan, G. Sethu Savithri
Additional Programming: Dawn Vincent
Guitar​: John P. Varkey
Violin​: Francis Xavier
Lyricist: Anwar Ali
Pulluvar Kudam & Udukku​ : Janardanan Puthussery
Music Director: Vinayakan

Chief Music Recording Supervisor​ : Shashikumar Nair
Music Recording & Mixing Engineer​: Dawn Vincent
Song Mastering: Kiran Lal
Music Recording Studios: ​Collective, Kochi; River Records, Chennai
Mastering Studio: NHQ, Kochi
​​Song & Music Research Team: ​Subramanian K. V., Nithin Lukose, Sonu K. P., ​Vijayakumar Prabhakaran, ​Sajitha K. R.

Music Label: Muzik247

Tags: , , , , , , , ,