Samantaral – Music Review (Bengali Soundtrack)

Songs and credits at the end (thanks to Gaurav Bhattacharjee for the tip-off about this album).

Actor Parambrata Chatterjee flaunts his singing skills in style in Bhalobasar Gaan, composer Indraadip Dasgupta’s brilliantly realised medley of Consuelo Velazquez’s classic Besame Mucho and Lalon Fakir’s Ke Kotha Koy Re Dekha. While the actor seems more comfortable singing the Spanish song than the Bengali segment, Dasgupta is in fine form throughout – smoothly seguing from the former to the latter, with Subhamoy Chowdhury’s fab guitar work on his side. Arijit Singh’s soft crooning is bound to lull you to sleep in the quiet, soothing title song (Ei Mon). Natasha Pinto’s piano, and acoustic guitar dominate the minimal backdrop – that slap of a percussion that occasionally echoes across the soundscape sort of reminds me of London Grammar’s Hey Now.

Arijit’s second song is a duet with Shreya GhoshalTui Chunli Jakhan. A melodic piece that feels heard-before, but is still quite effective owing to the singers’ fine work and a refreshing arrangement – love how the harmonium underlines the vocals. Durbin sees another Arijit behind the mic, Dev Arijit, another promising singer going by his sprightly rendition of this song. Pretty regular song aside of that though, compared to rest of the soundtrack – the pop setting doesn’t offer anything particularly new. Rupankar Bagchi and Rimita Mukherjee sing another of the album’s top songs, Dyakha Howbe Bole. Lovely breezy tune that takes an even more endearing classical-flavoured turns through the song. Was hoping that this song would feature the sarod somewhere, an instrument that Dasgupta has employed beautifully in classical-flavoured songs in the past. That unfortunately did not happen, but the guitar-led (Aditya Shankar) arrangement is very much likeable even so.

Samantaral. Another quality soundtrack from Indraadip Dasgupta that is high on melodic content.

Music Aloud Rating: 3.5/5

Top Recos: Bhalobasar Gaan, Dyakha Howbe Bole, Ei Mon

Musician Credits

Song – Durbin
Music – Indraadip Das Gupta
Lyrics – Dipangshu
Singer – Dev Arijit
Song programming – Dev Arijit
Guitar design – Aditya Shankar
Mix And Mastering – Amit Chatterjee

Song – Tui chunli Jakhan
Music – Indraadip Dasgupta
Lyrics – Dipangshu
Singer – Arijit Singh, Shreya Ghoshal
Programmer – Dev Arijit
Guitar – Aditya Shankar, Dev Arijit
Flute – Tejas venchurkar
Mixing and mastering – Amit Chatterjee

Song – Dyakha howbe bole
Music – Indraadip Das Gupta
Lyrics – Srijato
Singer – Rupankar Bagchi, Rimita Mukherjee
Programming – Shamik Chakravarty
Guitar – Aditya Shankar
Mixing and mastering – Amit Chatterjee

Song – Ei Mon(SAMANTARAL Title Track)
Music – Indraadip Das Gupta
Lyrics- Srijato
Singer – Arijit Singh
Piano- Natasha Pinto
Programming and track design – Arijit Singh
Mix and mastering – Amit Chatterjee

Song – Bhalobasar Gaan
Music: Original – Lalon & Consuelo Velázquez, Recreated By Inrdraadip Das Gupta
Lyricist: Lalon & Consuelo Velázquez
Singer – Parambrata Chattopadhyay
Guitar – Subhamoy Chowdhury
Track design – Amit-Soumalya
Mixing and mastering – Amit Chatterjee

Tags: , , , , , , , ,