Screen Awards 2012 – Winners List

The 18th Screen Awards got announced some time back. And guess what, NO DABANGG! But seriously, this time the awards seem to have displayed a bit more fairness, though I did notice some absolutely outrageous ones. In the music category though, things were pretty much as expected – at least from the nomination list given. A R Rahman quite understandably won the Best Composer award for Rockstar. I guess that will be a constant at all awards. And Mohit Chauhan got adjudged Best Playback Singer (Male) for the same movie. Shreya Ghoshal won the Best Playback Singer (Female) for her risque rendition of Ooh La La from The Dirty Picture, and Prasoon Joshi‘s quirky lyrics for Achcha Lagta Hai from Aarakshan got him the Best Lyricist award. Best Background Score went to Ranjit Barot for Shaitan, I was hoping that either him or Amit Trivedi win it, glad one of them did.

Well that’s about it. You can see the rest of the award winners here.