20 Best of Lata Di – A birthday tribute

Lata mangeshkarThe song “Naachu Yaa Gade” from the 1942 Vasant Joglekar movie, Kiti Hasaal, was a pretty insignificant song by itself, not even making it past the final cut of the film. But the song would gain immense importance later on in that it became the debut song of one of the greatest legends to have graced the Indian music scene, Lata Mangeshkar. And today, as the doyenne celebrates her 81st birthday, she would truly have little left to conquer in her life after a career spanning close to seven decades and thousands of songs, covering almost every genre and every award possible.
As a birthday tribute we have tried to list down what we feel to be 20 of her best songs. It is not easy to choose 20 from a seemingly infinite list, so please forgive us if we have missed out some major song. You can click on the song title to watch the video.
Aayega Aane Wala – Mahal (1949) – Composer: Khemchand Prakash
Rasik Balma – Chori Chori (1956) – Composers: Shankar Jaikishen
Aaja Re Pardesi – Madhumati (1958) – Composer: Salil Chaudhary
Ajeeb Daastaan Hai Yeh
– Dil Apna Aur Preet Paraayi (1959) – Composers: Shankar Jaikishen

Pyaar Kiya To Darna Kya – Mughal-e-Azam (1960) – Composer: Naushad
Aye Mere Watan Ke Logon – Non-film Patriotic (1962) – Composer: C Ramachandra
Lag Jaa Gale – Woh Kaun Thi (1964) – Composer: Madan Mohan
Aaj Phir Jeene – Guide (1965) – Composer: S D Burman
Aasmaan Ke Neeche – Jewel Thief (1967) – Composer: S D Burman
Rula Ke Gaya Sapna – Jewel Thief (1967) – Composer: S D Burman
Aa Jaanejaa – Inteqam (1969) –
Composers: Laxmikant Pyarelal
Chalte Chalte – Pakeezah (1972) –
Composer: Ghulam Mohammed
Baahon Mein Chale Aao – Anamika (1973) – Composer: R D Burman
Salaam-e-Ishq – Muqaddar Ka Sikandar
(1978) Composers: Kalyanji Anandji
Yaara Sili Sili – Lekin
(1991) Composer: Hridayanath Mangeshkar
Dil Hoom Hoom Kare – Rudaali
(1993) Composer: Bhupen Hazarika
Didi Tera Dewar Deewana – Hum Aapke Hai Kaun
(1994) Composer: Ram Laxman
Tujhe Dekha To Yeh Jaana – Dilwale Dulhaniya Le Jaayenge
(1995) – Composers: Jatin Lalit
Jiya Jale – Dil Se (1998) Composer: A R Rahman
Luka Chuppi – Rang De Basanti
(2006) – Composer: A R Rahman