Kirumi – Music Review (Tamil Movie Soundtrack)

kirumi posterSongs and full musician credits at the end of the review.

Gaana Bala is the soul of OC Soru, your staple folk song that features some fun lyrics (by Gnanakaravel). K’s arrangement conforms to the standard format with percussion taking the lead, but for an interesting layer of harmonium playing in a sort of undertone. Vaal Veesum Vazhkai the second song featuring Gaana Bala is a much more imaginative affair, the earthy singing by the singer stands in contrast with the Latino-infused sound that K weaves around him, dominated by guitars (Vikram Vivekanand) and brass (Babu Irudhayaraj). The combination gets along fabulously! G V Prakash Kumar does a rather good job of singing Naa Parakka, even as the composer aces the rock-based arrangement, led as expected by the guitars (Vikram again), but also features some excellent phrases from Aravind Murali’s harmonica (blues harp in this case).

Composer himself gets behind the mic for Oraayiram Ottaigal which also has a rock base but a much darker tone. Not as impactful as the rest of the songs, but it works. The usually reliable Yazin Nizar doesn’t seem entirely in control of his singing in Boom Boom Boodham, but the song is a winner despite that, K’s country style arrangement sure to have you grooving along. The soundtrack’s best is Naanal Poovaai, and intriguing song both in tune and arrangement – singer Jananie SV (debut in movies I believe, she had previously appeared on Music Mojo in this episode) alternating between reciting and singing, while K supplies the second voice. The arrangement has a lot of tinkling sounds that, along with the ambient synth sounds, impart the song a very dreamy quality.

K’s music for Kirumi has something of a Santhosh Narayanan/Sean Roldan type quality to it. Not that it is a matter to complain about, this soundtrack definitely ranks among K’s top works.

Music Aloud Rating: 8.5/10

Top Recos: Naanai Poovaai, Naa Parakka, Vaal Veesum Vazhkai

Full credits:

1. Acoustic Guitars, Electric Guitars – Vikram Vivekanand
2. Trumpets, Trombones – Babu Irudhayaraj
3. Violins – B.Yensone
4. Blues Harp – Aravind Murali
5. Bongos, Congas,Brushes, Tapes and Various Percussion – Krishna Kishor, Lakshminarayana, Raju
6. Metallophone, Keyboards and Additional Percussion – K
7. Additional and Backing Vocals – Anucharan, K, Joseph.P.George
8. Additional Keyboards on Vaal Veesum Vaazhkai – Joseph.P.George
Studios – Aura, Grooveplanet, John Studio (Chennai)
Songs Mixed and Mastered by Jaishankar Iyer at ‘Music From The Place’ (Chennai)


Tags: , , , , , ,