Enakkul Oruvan – Music Review (Tamil Movie Soundtrack)

enakkul oruvan poster

Songs and full credits at the end of the review.

Dhibu Ninan Thomas (who composed this Job Kurian-rendered single at the start of the year) debuts as playback singer with an earnest rendition in Yaar. The poignant tune is given a very atmospheric arrangement by Santhosh Narayanan with some wonderful use of piano (Leon James), even as the understated techno base lends an intriguing feel to the proceedings. Techno sounds take the front seat in Prabalamaagavey that takes on a retro, disco flavour (did I sense shades of Get Lucky in places?) with some trippy guitars from Joseph Vijay (electric) and Naveen Napier (bass). The movie’s main man Siddharth gets behind the mic and delivers well. Wiki tells me he has sung quite a few songs by now, but the only one I remember is the one he did for Amit Trivedi in Striker which I had liked.

For the core folk bit of Kutti Poochi instead of the current favourite Anthony Dasan, composer chooses a past master of the genre, Manicka Vinayagam, who still sounds as awesome as he ever did (hadn’t realised how similar Anthony sounds to the man). And then Santhosh goes on to build a trademark guitar-led (Keba Jeremiah) fusion piece around the folk base, highlighted also by Balu’s naadaswaram. Pretty much everything about Poo Avizhum Pozhudhil is gorgeous; the ambient effect once again works wonders with the incredibly charming melody. Pradeep Kumar is commendable as always, the guitars being the other high point. Santhosh’s whistling isn’t quite there all the time, but hits the mark in terms of adding to the breezy feel. Endi Eppadi gains big time from the 8-bit style refrain, the way it contrasts with the main tune and the kuthu beats, and Naveen’s amazing bass skills. The folk tune has a slight heard before feel but that can easily be overlooked amidst the arrangement and Santhosh’s own sprightly rendition.

Enakkul Oruvan. Santhosh Narayanan’s dream run in 2014 continues for a fourth consecutive soundtrack!

Music Aloud Rating: 8.5/10

Top Recos: Endi Eppadi, Poo Avizhum Pozhudhil, Yaar

Full Credits

Kutti Poochi
Lyrics : Muthamil
Singer : Manicka Vinayagam
Electric Guitars/Bass: Keba Jeremiah
Nadaswaram : Balu
Additional Keyboards: Leon James

Poo Avizhum Pozhudhil
Lyrics : Vivek
Singer : Pradeep Kumar
Acoustic Guitars/Bass: Keba Jeremiah
Ukelele : Sean Roldan
Whistle : Santhosh Narayanan
Electric Guitars : Joseph Vijay

Lyrics : Ganesh Kumar Krish
Singer : Santhosh Narayanan
Indian Percussions : ‘4 Idiots’ group
Djembe : Dhibu Ninan Thomas
Electric Guitars : Joseph Vijay
Bass : Naveen
Electric Guitars : Joseph Vijay

Lyrics : Muthamil
Singer : Siddharth
Electric Guitars: Joseph Vijay
Bass : Naveen

Lyrics : Vivek
Singer : Dhibu Ninan Thomas
Piano : Leon James

Chorus : Santhosh Narayanan, Meenakshi Iyer
Additional Programming : Satt Richard, RK Sundar
Additional Vocal Arrangements on ‘Yaar’ : Dhibu Ninan Thomas
Recorded by : Santhosh Narayanan at Future Tense studios, RK Sundar at prism
Mixed by: Santhosh Narayanan at studios 301 Sydney, Future Tense Studios
Mastered by: Steve Smart at Studios 301 Sydney
All tracks Composed, Arranged and Programmed by Santhosh Narayanan

Tags: , , , , ,